h1

Jov sez: Icecrown can’t hit soon enough

November 3, 2009

As if to rub my well-established hatred of TOC in my face, new fun things are apparently on the menu for Icecrown.  One of which is a healing fight.

For those who’ve kept themselves buried under a rock, the hilight (screw Arthas, this is the hilight) of Icecrown is Valithria Dreamwalker.

If you don’t feel like following the link, at first glance, she seems slightly reminiscent of Vael back in BWL.  Friendly dragon, captured by our enemy, worn down and at half health…  But there the fight changes, my friends.  Unlike Vael, Valithria wants our healings.

Our tasty tasty healings.

That’s right, we heal the boss to full to win the encounter.  (yes, there’s also waves of trash and stuff.  But none of that matters.  This is a HEALING FIGHT in the truest sense of the word.  Hot damn!)

And I have to sit here in ToC for HOW much longer?

/protest!

9 comments

  1. I’m happy for the healers, but wonder how interesting its really going to be to pour heals into a stationery object and then have to listen to the holydins gloat at the end.


  2. Can’t wait!


  3. It definitely is unique, and I like that Blizzard would try something like this. As a holy/disc priest, I don’t think I’ll be doing much healing on her though. :-( I do know for sure that my guild had better find a holy paladin that will stick around more than a week.


  4. This does sound like fun! My thought….send one healer into the portal to get all buffed up. as soon as they come out have a holy priest put Guardian Spirit on the dragon and heal the crap out of that dragon. Honestly no idea if it will work as I’ve never tried to put Guardian Spirit on someone outside of the raid, but the tooltip says “friendly target”.


  5. Amen to those sentiments, Jov – I just came out of this week’s ToGC, where we still couldn’t manage to duplicate our Insanity achievement. I know I should just be happy we’re getting some Triumph, but I find it frustrating as hell – that we’re good enough to do it once, and not good enough to repeat it.


  6. “I’m happy for the healers, but wonder how interesting its really going to be to pour heals into a stationery object and then have to listen to the holydins gloat at the end.”

    …sounds like a normal raid for a disc priest.
    XD

    That said, I’m still looking forward to it.


  7. I really, really hope I get to see that fight. Omg.


  8. At face value, this fight looks to be the most interesting fight implemented into the game in a while.


  9. I don’t heal anymore and *I* am excited about this.

    Of course, I remember the days when rogues had to bandage the healers in MC….

    I like how they are changing the mechanics of what it takes to win to be something more than killing.



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

