h1

Seri sez: I am Henri(etta) the tank, I am.

October 8, 2009

I'm just big boned!This week, I embark on a grand adventure. I’ve faction transferred my old warrior and, in the immortal words of Malcolm Reynolds, “I aim to misbehave.” Why should you care? Well, there are insights to be learned about tanks that can only be learned by walking a mile in their steel-toed boots. Or hooves, depending.

Anyhow, it’s been a really long time since I played this character. She’s 70, but it’s been eons since I touched her. (A year, if not more.) When I logged her in, she had no spec and I wasn’t reasonably certain I remembered what even a quarter of her buttons did. Needless to say, I have my work cut out for me. But, with some help from Tarsus and the Panzercow, I have a nice fresh spec and am reasonably certain I will know which buttons to push when I venture out of Warsong Hold. Eventually.

What? Don’t look at me like that… there’s a lot to do when you pick up an old character! So, maybe I’ve spent about 90% of my time on her shuffling her between the bank, the mailbox and her trainer. It’s been productive! She has heirloom shoulders, breastplate and trinket. She has a spec, her bank is… partly sorted… and I actually gained a point of Blacksmithing from mats I had in my alt bank. Also, Cold Weather Flying! See? Productive.

Don’t judge me.

What may make this exercise all the more entertaining is that I’ve decided to level as Protection. I’ve heard Northrend is a lot of fun for Prot Warriors, so I’m going to give it a whirl even though some might think me crazy. The way I figure… I haven’t tanked anything for so long that the more practice I can get between instance runs the less likely I am to make an ass of myself (or more of one than usual) while grouping. I wouldn’t bet on it but… that’s the theory.

I’ll check in periodically to share my insights with you. In the meantime, do you have any anecdotes to share about standing in the front instead of the back? I’d love to hear them.

28 comments

  1. Wooo for leveling Protection! If you’re not fighting 4 mobs at once, you’re doing it wrong.

    Good luck and have fun!


  2. Leveling prot was awesome fun.


  3. Yep, my first 80 was my prot warrior – tried prot once for leveling and never looked back!

    the survivability, less downtime, acceptable damage, and ability to handle oodles of adds really makes for a good leveling spec. Arms or Fury are good, but only if you have real good weapons. Otherwise, you’re just eating all the time.


    • I do hate downtime.


  4. Northrend is especially good for Prot leveling. Lots of closely packed mobs to gather up and destroy.


  5. I do loves me some prot, though there’s something about running around with a pair of two-handed axes that is just… oh yes.

    You will survive some crazy, crazy stuff. Seeeriously. Matojo was almost invincible. He still is, but hey.


    • Dual wield was always my favorite way to DPS when I used to play this character. Of course, back when I was originally leveling (2004-5ish) there was that huge huballoo about OH misses and whether or not dual wield was actually comparable DPS to 2H because of all the misses.

      Then again, I was also a dual wielding Arms warrior. *cringe* I didn’t know any better, I swear!


  6. There seems to be a love-or-hate relationship with both tanking and healing… I’ve rarely found people who were in between.

    I hope you fall into the “love” category, although with a main raider already, it’s probably more just an “educational” category, like most of my leveling toons :)

    I certainly find that I can understand a class very well without having played it, but key understandings come to light only when I play it myself.

    Go go alt-o-holicism!

    Valdesta
    http://WoWGrrl.com – my WoW Blog


  7. Leveling prot is indeed win.

    /nods

    /is stared at by her level 78 warrior


  8. ONE OF US! ONE OF US! .>


  9. Blarg. I tried to lessthanthree Seri and it ate the rest of my post. CURSE YOU HTML.


  10. I have tried to level a warrior….and a pally….and a rogue. I just cannot do it. I get to mid 20s and get bored with them. I just cannot seem to get into melee classes. I have given up on the idea of having a melee class, I’ll stick with ranged.

    I have recently gone and started leveling a character that has been collecting dust for a bit, a mage. I have gone through all the same steps as you, though the person that was supposed to help me spec was nowhere to be found. I used WoW Wiki instead. Read through all the talents and used their suggestions for good talents for leveling. Bank is cleaned out, heirloom items are bought…and it is soooo nice to fly around Northrend! I’m having a lot of fun killing things so effortlessly :)


    • I have a mage. She’s 62… oddly enough, she was my first char to reach 60, but I fell out of love with her. She hasn’t been at cap for a long time. Maybe one day I’ll take her up again.


  11. As someone with a DPS main, and now a L80 DK tank, may I say welcome. My plan was to experiement in tanking in order to gain better perspective on the role as a whole – but due to the shattered remains of my guild we’re often in need of a tank, so once I’m geared, it’s back into the breach.

    I can’t speak of leveling a prot warrior, but I agree with Ayslin – flying through Northrend is so much nicer than the alternative. Oh, and buy Tums – lots of them.


    • I think I tanked low level stuff in Kara once or twice on this character, but the last ‘serious’ tanking I did was in MC. It’s a whole different game, now. I can’t predict the future but I am pretty happy with my current raid role. Don’t see myself becoming a full time tank.


  12. OK, let me try rebuilding my post that got eaten…if you’re in Warsong Hold, you’ll enjoy being a prot warrior when you step out into the quarry. It’s easy to get swarmed, and that’s a good thing, because you’ll just laugh at them as you grind them down, plus you can practice switching targets and spreading devastates around, and all the other good stuff you need to multi-target-tank as a warrior. It’s a good start toward getting ready to tank UK or Nexus. (I find UK an extremely easy and relatively forgiving instance for a beginning tank, IMO. It’s not like you don’t know the fights already, right?)


    • I’m still trying to wrap my brain around how to do this… I have a feeling I’m going to be referring to my cheat sheet frequently for reminders. :)


  13. Im sorry Seri, I know you want to give it a whirl but in reality whirlwind is a poor choice for tanking.


    • ded of pun —>


      • :D PRIEST KILLS WARRIOR!

        FACT: Puns are considered unlawful weapons of war by NATO. This came about by the use of Wacky Gaddafi Taffy by the Libyans during the Toyota war. All enemy combats fell over groaning when the taffy was shot out over the battle field by canons.

        True story


  14. Oh Altoholism, I must admit I suffer from thee…

    My warrior dinged 79 last night and I leveled her as prot the whole way! And I’m a big chicken – I don’t round ‘em up like I should, but it was nice to knock out group quests by myself, I must say.

    Have fun with your prot warrior – one of the least squishy toons you can play. Should be a hawt change of pace from the priest?

    =)


  15. Blee was originally a warrior. That unfortunately only lasted for thirty levels. I was a big fan of charge however. But pretty much my only tanking experience is when I’ve pulled aggro at this point.


  16. My main is a priest, too, and I have an 80 prot pally. Honestly, tanking HAS made me a better healer. Both from learning the mechanics from this side, and also the way the tank has aggro so when to pop off heals. I die less, they die less, all is good.

    Now, if the ^*^*%$ shield would just drop….


    • You do know you can remove buffs on yourself using /cancelaura in a macro, so that you don’t have to wait for your shield to run out?

      So my mage does this….

      Iceblock
      hit Ice Lance macro which looks like this

      /cancelaura ice block
      /cast ice lance

      The cool part is that if you aren’t iceblocked, it will still cast ice lance. Completely foolproof!


  17. I didn’t pick up dual spec for Prot until well after getting a full set of epics for healing. I am a paladin and have been all Holy forever. I still have trouble with the different mindset. I will use music to set the mood. I like Creed, maybe P.O.D., myself. Going from standing in the back and running away to, “Run up.”
    “Yes, run up to him.” “No really it will be fine.”
    It is a different way of thinking, tanking vs. healing. And your UI is cluttered with other people health bars and cleanse muscle memory wants to take over, etc., arggh. Good luck and welcome to the club.


  18. I recently picked up my level 78 prot warrior because I was utterly burned out on priest healing and my guild was going down the drain anyhow. I have to say. The change was great. I get a much better idea of what’s going on in a fight when I’m tanking, as my rotation (such as it is) is thoroughly ingrained into my brain, my health makes noises at me when it drops to certain levels, and boss skills usually have a big enough gap between them for me to look around at my fellows. I’ve found I especially enjoy offtanking anything with adds I have to run around with. Jeraxxus’ infernals are fun.

    Prot was pretty awesome for levelling, too. Downtime isn’t there and if you make sure to do a fair bit of instancing too to keep your gear solid, your DPS isn’t at all bad when you gather stuff up and AoE it down. Devastate’s damage was buffed since I was actually levelling, too, so I suspect our single target damage must be somewhat more impressive. Good luck levelling, anyway!


  19. A bit.., well totally offtopic; I love that you quoted Malcolm Reynolds.
    “..They’ll swing back to the belief that they can make people… better. And I do not hold to that. I aim to misbehave.”
    Good luck with your “tank”. :)


  20. I love that you quoted a Firefly character in this post. <3!



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

