h1

Jov sez: 3.2 Changes (the ones I care about, at least)

August 4, 2009

Rumor has it that 3.2 is going to be going live at the same time as this post.  We’ll see if that works out.  But!  I like to cover my bases, so…

The Cliff’s Notes version, reverse excitement order, blah-est to yay!-est:

  • Crusader’s Coliseum — New 5/10/25/dailies, yadda yadda yadda
  • Changes to raid instances: 10- and 25- mans now have both heroic and normal settings; Dungeon and Raid IDs can now be extended, each extension doubles the lockout period (so Ulduar goes from 7 days to 14, Onyxia goes from 3 days to 6, etc.)
  • PoH gets a nerf (approx 17%, the nerf hitting harder as your SP goes up)
  • Penance gets an increased cooldown (12 seconds, up from 10)
  • MP5 gets a huge buff (mp5 on items is doubling)
  • Soulbound items have a “cooldown” period, wherein they can be traded (I think that came about purely in response to our usual master looter and the infamous number of “put in a ticket and blame me” miss-loots. >.>  E-HARTS)
  • Emblems are changing, moving back to a more TBC way of doing things.
  • Buncha changes to the UI essentially duplicating the effects of addons like Ratings Buster, SellFish, etc.
  • Children’s Week in Dalaran — Wolvar and Gorlock pets ahoy!
  • Zeppelin from Thunder Bluff to Orgrimmar, negating the need for the run across the Barrens at lv 1-15 (About fscking time!)
  • Riding at 20 for 4g, Epic riding at 40 for 50g, Flight at 60 for 600g, Epic flight gets faction discounts (my alts say Hallelujah!)
  • “The local Postal Service has grown tired of walking so far each day to collect mail and has decided to install a large number of new mailboxes in Stormwind, Undercity, Darnassus and Orgrimmar.”  (asdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfasdf YES WHY DID IT TAKE YOU 5 YEARS?!?!?)

FLAMING SNOTOkay, so, Cliff’s Notes. On to the details:

I don’t care about the ColiseumI’ve covered this already.  The fact that I additionally need to JOUST to participate makes me just want to kill it in a wad of flaming snotThis elf-troll-girl-whatever DOES NOT JOUST.

If it was unclear before, I am actually looking forward to several of the changes which won’t actually do anything for my mains, simply because they’re generally the kinds of stupid changes that totally just make sense.  Alliance gets a boat from Darnassus to Stormwind, negating the death run across the Wetlands (oh, death run across the Wetlands…  How I do not miss you) so it’s kinda a no-brainer that they’ve finally added the equivalent to take care of the death-run across the Barrens for the Horde.  Likewise, actually putting MAILBOXES in more than one or two random-ass locations in the capitals?  Totally awesome in my book.  I’ve long held to the superiority of Silvermoon as a Horde city primarily because there’s a mailbox on every corner (and sometimes two).   And, finally, the changes to mounts are unadulterated awesome.  Old-Azeroth content is one of the weakest aspects of the game, at current.  Once you’re out of the belf/draenei noob zones, with the exception of Dustwallow, you’re in the land of “run over there and bring me some of that” when “over there” takes an hour to get to, and “some of that” never actually drops.  They’ve increased the rate of XP (especially after Heirloom gear) so it’s nice to see they’re increasing the speed of it as well.

I’m honestly kinda meh on the changes to Badges.  It definitely makes it easier to play catch-up, since the gear curve isn’t going to be quite so steep at this stage in the game, but while they’re still BoP (as opposed to BoA.  Damnit, I want BoA badges, blizzard!) I’m probably going to continue using them the same way I am now; I don’t need the gear they offer, so I’ll just keep buying heirloom gear for alts and stuff I can sell on the AH to re-make my raiding repair bills.  This change doesn’t affect me, I really can’t bring myself to care much.

I’m actually most interested in the general changes to raid instances.  The infinitely-extendable lockouts can be a good thing or a bad, depending on how they’re used (specifically, on later-instance bosses you just need more time on, because getting to them takes up half your raid week).  This, coupled with the ability to trade soul-bound items for a limited period of time kinda fall under the point above about changes that make a stupid-amount of sense.  Neither are game-breaking, they don’t affect the size of your e-peen (yes, you can clear all Ulduar in 2 raid days, we need 4, but only have 3 per week.  Have a trophy.)  They make it easier for Blizzard GMs (not having to wade through all the “oops, miss-looted” requests, leaving them time to deal with more important issues) and the more casual raid groups.  Like the badge changes, you can say they’re continuing to dumb-down the game, but it doesn’t really break anything.  And, also, as far as the badges go, at least, you can argue that they’re just matching the dumbed-down levels of the previous expansion.

And finally, priests are being nerfed. It sucks, but they’re pretty OP at current.  Blizzard has always said that when you bring one class at the expense of another that does the same job, they need to normalize, which is the position Priests (holy, specifically) have been in regards to current Hard Mode content. I’m going to probably get a lot of hate-mail for this, but it’s a needed and expected change. (And priests are STILL pretty OP, just less so.)  The PoH nerf (if you’ve not read the post linked above, do it now.  Derevka at Tales of a Priest handles the numbers of it very well) is not really that big a deal.  The CoH cooldown was a much more noticeable difference. Holy Priests aren’t going to be losing raid spots over it, at least not the spots they were taking at the expense of other classes, at least.  Penance cooldown was increased by effectively 1 GCD, which is one more shield, one more ProM, one more flash.  I’ll fully admit to not being a Disc priest and not having a firm grasp on the effect, but 1 GCD really doesn’t seem like that much.  I’ll reserve comment beyond that.

So, yeah, 3.2 today?  Next week?  Next month?  All I have to say is Arthas better come soon.  Coliseum is pretty ho-hum.

6 comments

  1. /agree
    I was expecting worse after your tweet ;)

    This must be the patch I’ve been the least excited about even tho it introduces some nice changes that will make my (alt) life easier. Other then that, a big meh. But considering my guild has been slowing down lately on its progression course, I find this is a great time/patch to catch up, get out stuff back together and get ready for Arthas.


  2. The Penance change won’t be a big deal, but I think it’s dumb and here’s why. Last patch, they released a glyph that decreased the cooldown of Penance. This patch, the increase the cooldown of Penance. Why not just ditch the glyph? Seems silly.


  3. …how have I gone this long without finding out that you have to joust in the Coliseum? o_O

    Pardon, I have to go commit ritual suicide now before I do something crazy and participate in that nonsense.


  4. ‘Soulbound items have a “cooldown” period, wherein they can be traded (I think that came about purely in response to our usual master looter and the infamous number of “put in a ticket and blame me” miss-loots.’

    LOL! This is what we have been saying about our Loot Master…He claims blame too.

    Anyhow I agree. Really not excited about the new raid. I am however quite excited about the emblem change, but that is because I do not raid 25 man stuff often as I’m in a small guild focused on 10 mans.


  5. Is it a little sad that I’m more excited about the new pets, new mounts, a new 5-man instance, and not getting omgwtfdroppedfromthesky over Dalaran and WG while alt-tabbed and flying than I am about anything else in this patch? ;D Or that could speak volumes for how easily amused I am by the little things.

    In all honesty though, I had immense fun tackling the new 5-man and 10-man last nigh. Sure, it feels very much like the filler content that it is, but hanging out with guildmates and doing something new together was great. :) The encounters are actually really fun, and better yet, they’re quick. I expect the shine will wear off and it’ll become another Grull’s or Magtheradon, but for now I’m grateful for something new to enjoy and share with folks I like being around.

    P.S. I’m happy to give tips for jousting anytime. The jousting portion of the 5-man instance is very, very minimal and super easy. There is no jousting in the 10-man, at least not in regular mode.


  6. What? No comment on the new Quest log? You know the one that takes up half the screen blocking anything that might be attacking you.

    Actually I personally have loved the Shaman changes, super convienent now to drop all the junk you need rapidly.

    The thing I am MOST excited about is having the option of buying a cold weather flying tome to teach your lvl 68 to fly in Northrend! My alt has it so easy. I can hear my main saying “you have it so easy, in my day we had to run UP the stormwind peaks in the snow both ways. That’s right, they are that big sonny jim.” (Sonny jim is sadly not the name of my alt)



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

