h1

Seri sez: Hi, I’m Seri and I play a Rogue.

July 23, 2009

I’m surprised that this conversation doesn’t happen more often:

“So, Seri.”
“Yes?”
“You write for World of Snarkcraft.”
“Yes.”
“It’s a Priest blog…”
“Mmmhmm.”
“…and you play a Rogue.”
“Yup.”
“WTF?”

Ok, actually, I’m more surprised that this conversation has never happened. *snicker*

Jov and I have made little mystery of the fact that we have both changed classes in the time since we started this little blogging adventure. You may wonder why it is that we continue to research and write about Priests when we don’t spend as much time playing them these days. Or maybe you don’t. Nonetheless, I’m going to tell you today!

The reasons why we kept World of Snarkcraft as it is are numerous, and I’m sure that Jov’s are different from mine. My thoughts are as follows:

1. Our readership is comprised mostly (I assume) of Priests, and they expect Priestly info here.

I’ve watched numerous blogs go through content shifts in the time I’ve been following them and, sad to say, I don’t follow most of them anymore. If I add a blog to my reader, it’s because its focus is something of interest to me. When that focus shifts, unless it is to something else that interests me, it loses me as a reader. We are happy members of the WoW Priest community, and certainly don’t want to drive readers off. (Especially the ones we’ve developed a rapport with.) What’s more, we’re lazy and cultivating a reader base is hard–especially when you’re as shrewish as we are.

2. Who the hell would want to read “The Raiding Rogue & Resto Shammy Blog”?

Talk about an odd couple. I mean… I could understand maybe something like a tank & healer pair trying to cater to both sides of the equation. DPS +  healer is about as random as you get, and you’re going to basically have two ‘camps’ of readers, each reading half your content. Doesn’t seem very productive.

3. We <3 Priests.

Hey, don’t get me wrong… I <3 my Rogue. I also <3 my Priest, I just am retired from 25-man Healing. I enjoy healing 10-mans & Heroics quite a bit, and Priesting will always have a special place in my heart. Or, at least what is left of it since I turned into a cold-blooded stabbing/slashing machine. (*stabstab*)

4. I am a diverse individual, dammit!

Man cannot live on beer alone, or something like that. My interests, much like Jov’s shoe collection, are copious and varied (if less prone to wedge heels). This used to mean that I had a billion alts. These days… well… I still have a billion alts, but I really specialize in Priest and Rogue. After all, they’re the only two to make it to 80 (so far).

5. Who knows, there’s always next expansion.

Hey, you never know… one or both of us might go back to full-time Priest(ess)hood at some point. Stranger things have happened. I mean, they put a man on the moon for pete’s sake. Granted, we’re no Armstrong & Aldrin… more like the space chimps from back in the day. After all, I can usually be coerced into a game of  whack-a-mole heal-botting for a banana (split) like any other monkey (and Jov never stopped).

That’s basically it. It’s not terribly complicated, but I feel better now that I’ve actually had the conversation somewhere other than inside my head. ;)

15 comments

  1. Hmm…funny enough, I follow this blog because you guys often have something to say that I want to hear. And only too often the posts I like best aren’t specifically priesting.

    I like the writing style, the sarcasm, and the critical way of thinking. :)


    • Aw. <3


  2. I just read the blog for the hot chicks in the header bar. Oh sexy Angel of Improved Death, how I long for you to whisk me away to a land where all the heals are free and all the bodies are horizontal.


    • *snicker snort* NOTE: DO NOT READ WHEN TRYING TO DRINK ANYTHING. (ow ow ow sporfled my water)


  3. I read because I find you both to be entertaining. However in any blog I read if something is not of interest I just scan it…and if that is still boring I skip it and move on. I have not done that here at all yet and that is probably due to the focus. Very little that has been posted here doesn’t pertain to me.

    You 2 both seem to have a knack for picking a good topic and keeping it fun and interesting. This is why I love you both :)

    But yeah….no real interest in rogue or shammy posts. :D


  4. This is a Priest blog? I’m rereading the “About Us” and I suppose it is. I thought it was just a blog of snarky WoW-related comments!


  5. As Frijona said, I read because it’s snarky, bloggy, wowish stuff. I have everything except a warrior, so I can relate to nearly everything you could talk about.


  6. Yep, I’m with these fellers. I read for your rapier wit and sparkling personalities. My highest priest (buhleeted) made it to a whopping level 6.

    But I hear ya: I’m trying to wrangle my blog-thoughts back my nerdy and WoW crafting after drifting a bit. Then again, my blog isn’t as popular as yours either. Hmm… maybe you’re on to something there. ;)


  7. We must be doing something wrong if one has to read the ‘About Us’ to figure out we’re a Priest blog. *snicker*

    Of course, not every post we do is Priest-specific. We don’t like to repeat ourselves. ;)


  8. LOL…too funny I have also recently rolled a Rogue as my main (Paramessu on Sen’jin) after playing a Priest for nearly 3 years (Hamacus/Sen’jin).

    I just dinged 80 on my long time Warlock and should have my Druid to 80 in about a week. I plan on finishing my Huntard,(Hamtard), and Shammie which are both at 40 after that.

    I miss Priesting but I concur “I am a diverse individual, dammit!” LOL. Plan on healing 5 mans when 3.2 hits though to keep up my skills. Like, you said…you never know. Until then…Slice and Dice baby!

    Love your site and keep up the good work.


  9. “Priesting -so easy even a rogue can do it!”

    Now, switching to a dps I can understand. But why switch to another healer (resto shammie)?

    Anyway, I appreciate you continuing to blog about priests. :-)


    • Pretty easy: same reason I dabbled in Resto Druid at the end of Vanilla WoW (I was a tree before trees were cool!) I love priest, but sometimes something a little different is fun, and revitalizes the game.

      Now, when I rolled my shammy, it was because my guild had zero resto shaman, so a couple of us were doing it as a back-up. And, I fell in love. So once I hit 80, I made the switch.

      I love priests, I’ll always consider priest to be “my class” but sometimes it’s fun to do something different, as well. This is my shammy’s expansion for 25s. Jov still gets most of the non-25s playtime, however. Keeps both classes more fresh.


  10. I like you two regardless of class. I mean, I made allowances for the fact you’re both “for the Horde!” didn’t I?

    About the only time I play my priest anymore is 25-man raiding; I’d much rather be on my Hunter or Rogue.

    You both are fun to read, here and on Twitter. So keep on keepin’ on, Ladies!


    • I’ll admit that I occasionally miss Alliance. I mean, I was alliance 3x longer than horde and I’ve made no secret that Draenei are my favorite race.

      However, the time I’ve actually spent Alliance-side doing more than chatting with my alliance friends, even though I’ve 2 lv 70s there? About 1 evening. My priest hit the barbershop, and my druid did the same, did one night of boomkin pwnage with Seri’s druid in Borean, and picked up some flightpaths.

      So, while I occasionally miss it, I mainly do so for the people. Kinda depressing how easy it was to turn my back on 3-year old characters, but there ya go.


  11. correction : man can live on beer alone..



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

