h1

Seri sez: Celebrating Diversity, Snarkcraft-style.

June 25, 2009

With Jov out of town for the week, Seri is once again bereft of an outlet for her random musings, as well as a not insignificant source of daily entertainment. Well, when the cat’s away the mice will play…

Here at World of Snarkcraft we embrace diversity and recognize that no two raiders are alike but we can all co-exist in tree-hugging harmony. In fact, there’s a whole spectrum of different types of raiders out there that I thought I might explore today for lack of something better to do. For kicks, I threw in some non-raider archetypes too as a basis for comparison. Purely scientific, I swear.

  • Raid-Oblivious: Sure, you may have heard of that Naxxramas instance but you’re not sure where it is and your guild isn’t big enough for 5-mans anyway so mostly you just stick to questing and PvP.
  • Raid-Repulsed: The mere idea of raiding turns your stomach and it actually irks you that Blizzard caters to “those people”. You may or may not attend rallies in a bedsheet with eye holes.
  • Raid-Indifferent: You never really understood what all the fuss is about when it comes to raiding. Maybe you’ve been on a few raids, maybe you haven’t. Whatever.
  • Raid-Curious: You have some friends that have tried raiding and seem to like it, but you’re not sure if it’s for you. However, if you get drunk enough you’ll try anything once.
  • Raid-Reluctant: You raid because your friends like to raid, but really you’d be just as happy drinking Shasta & braiding each other’s hair.
  • Raid-Cautious: You raid regularly (and enjoy it) but are careful not to get too invested. You have a life outside the game and you do like to visit it between raids. Or, at least, you are pretty sure your S.O. will cut you off if you don’t.
  • Raid-Obsessed: You raid more than is probably healthy. When you’re not raiding, you’re thinking about and/or planning for raids. You may have developed a taste for progressive German speed metal and six-armed women on those late, late nights in Black Temple.
  • Raid-Shackled: You aren’t as into raiding as you used to be, but you keep doing it for some reason. Maybe you’ve been doing it so long you don’t know what else to, or you feel like you can’t set it aside because your guild/friends need you.
  • Raid-Retired: You used to raid, but for whatever reason you had to pull the plug. Maybe you still play the game, maybe you don’t, but every now and then you like to reconnect with your old buddies and talk about the glory days. These young whippersnappers just don’t know how good they have it.

What description fits you the best? Be honest.

22 comments

  1. =O What about those of us that want to raid but can’t because of real life stuff?


    • How about calling that Raid – Impaired?


  2. Raid-cautious for sure. Deep inside I want to be OBSESSED though. I would love to dedicate my life to raiding. But have sworn that I will not spend every free moment in front of my computer anymore. At least that is what my internet anonymous sponsor makes me say. My thighs thank me for it. I get my fix when I can’t play by reading Snarkcraft.


  3. I am a mix between raid-cautious and raid reluctant.


  4. Somewhere between ‘Obsessed’ and ‘Shackled’… unfortunately.

    Those shivarra demons are actually quite nice gals, really…


  5. A mix of obsessed and shackled as well here. And I’m lovin’ it! (so far…)


  6. Hm… honestly, I used to feel “Raid-Shackled” but I almost feel like I can’t say that because I wasn’t hardcore, but that’s how I felt.

    I’m now Raid-Retired – I’m focusing on alts right now and Anea comes into play for dailies and helping out Lus’ alt.


  7. I’m somewhere bang in the middle between ‘obsessed’ and ‘shackled’. I’m less that exstatic about raid nights, yet I spent most of my time in-game in raids or preparing for them. I even spend hours every week outside of the game researching whatever needs researching. *Twitch*


  8. More an more I am slipping towards retired. I still play, but my schedule allows me to raid (if I am up to it) maybe once or twice a month.

    SO far behind the gear curve I am more a hinderance than a help anywhere beyone t-7 content.


  9. I’m a mixture of Cautious, Obsessed and Shackled. Much like my split personalities, I do not know yet which one will come out on top. Or if one side will be victorious before I retire.
    This is my wrestling-commentator personality talking.


  10. I’m between Raid Cautious and Raid Obsessed, but leaning more toward the latter. I try to continue to have a real life outside of WoW, but when I *am* in WoW and it’s a raid night, it’s game time. ;D When it’s not a raid night, I still totally enjoy running heroics, faction grinding, doing dailies, or hunting for pets.


  11. Raiding Enthused!: Raids regularly, but only rarely raids “too much”.


  12. Raid-Curious, maybe Rain-virgin is a better title. Now I just got to find enough level 80’s to raid with . . .


  13. I think that I most definately fall in the Raid Obsessed category. If I’m not in the game, I’m looking for all those tricks and tips to help us in our push for progression…

    And I’ve at least one time in my life addressed a person that has woken me from slumber before I was ready with “too soon. You have awoken me too soon”. =)


  14. I’m honestly not sure. I’d think Raid-Cautious, as I do not raid all that much. I like to keep my schedules raiding down to 3 tomes a week….maybe 4. Anyhow I only say I’m unsure as I recently found that my guildies see me differently than I see myself. A week ago one called me hard core and when I protested several others agreed with him. It kinda threw me. I finally found that to them what makes me hard core is my obsession with knowledge of my class. I spend about 2 hours a day reading WoW related blogs and forums and most of that is centered around healing.

    Anyhow I still do not consider myself hard core, but I guess we do not always see ourselves as others do.


  15. Raid Cautious, and yes, the “SO” figures mightily into that classification.


  16. I am raid reluctant. I don’t particularly enjoy it, but I do it for the purples. I like seeing the different bosses, but don’t like progression raiding.

    I’m not a marine, being on the front lines, clearing the path of enemy scum. I’m more the tourist that comes along later, oh-ing and ah-ing at how pretty it is, collecting souveniers along the way.

    Except, being a raid leader I have to at least play at being a marine occasionally, so I can lead the tours later.


    • Raid Tourist sounds about right for me too–usually
      I tag along because they need a tenth player to complete an in-guild group. But most of them are running 25s regularly as well, which applies a good bit of grease to smooth the run

      Purple items are more like souvenirs. :)


  17. Raid-indifferent (but I miss you guys). Had fun on the runs I went on, but I play to have time doing something with people I enjoy spending time with.


    • What, and you don’t enjoy spending time with us? I see how it is. ;)


  18. oblivious haha

    i just do quests a lot in the game not sure what i’ll be doing at 80.


  19. […] that month, Jov abandoned me for a whole […]



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

