h1

Seri sez: Discipline Priests Unite–er, Disperse!

February 19, 2009

urgent-clipartLet’s talk about Discipline. After all, everyone’s doing it these days. With the advent of WotLK, Discipline has risen in popularity and utility for PVE content. I don’t have to tell you how awesome it is, because you can’t sling a wet cat (not that I advocate aqueous feline bombardment) without hitting a dozen blog or forum posts about how awesome Discipline is. Some enterprising soul even registered DiscPriest.com and set up forums.

Don’t get me wrong. I love Discipline, but I’m starting to think about going back to Holy because the Discipline-mania that is rampant in the Priest community makes me a bit uncomfortable.

It wasn’t always this way. These things don’t happen overnight. It’s a slippery slope; you start out just quietly enjoying your time with your new spec/role. Then you realize that you aren’t alone. Other people like it too, and you can all chat merrily about how nifty it is.

So maybe you start a thread at the healing community of your choice, a haven for Discipline priests to chat about all things Discipline. Maybe you start your own blog to talk about it, and/or find yourself following dozens of other Discipline priests on Twitter. Maybe you become an advocate, singing the praises of Discipline and convincing Holy Priests to just give it a try. Maybe you become an activist, finding yourself urging your favorite Priest bloggers to cover more Discipline topics.

Time passes. The next thing you know, you and thirty friends are sipping kool-aid in your uniform black tee shirt and Nikes while stockpiling a small arsenal in the basement of your compound.

Ok, so maybe I’m exaggerating a little bit, but the cult-like following Discipline has developed is a growing cause for concern here at the Snarkcraft HQ. When interest becomes obsession, it’s time for a gut check. Maybe it’s time to ask yourself, “Have I developed an unhealthy attachment to my spec?” Consider the following questions:

  1. Do you own a Discipline Priest tee-shirt, bumper sticker, mouse pad or coffee mug?
  2. Do you have any of the Discipline talent icons tattooed and/or shaved on your person?
  3. Have you decorated your home in “Penance colors”?
  4. Did you register DiscPriest.com? (:P)
  5. Have you attended a Discipline march/rally/convention?
  6. Have you ever passed out pro-Discipline literature at your local gaming shop?

If you answered yes to one or more of these questions, please seek help. Discipline is a spec, not a movement. You don’t need to rise up and throw off the shackles of oppression. You’re not the underdog anymore; you’re an accepted and cherished member of the raid team… if you’d just shut the hell up and heal already.

25 comments

  1. While I am disc, I really liked this post. While I haven’t given holy a second thought after switching in my early 70s (dual spec is a different story), I would agree with you on nearly all other counts. But at the same time the only reason for this sudden explosion is that disc didn’t used to have the same popularity and now that more people use it, there are tons of questions they want to get answered. I think its safe to say that in another few months the topics will start to balance out again, although disc will now have a bit higher ratio than before.


  2. I find it funny actually because I think Disc is still a work in progress as far as specs go. It’s got a lot of tools, but it’s weak for single target healing (only strong on mitigation, but that won’t cut the mustard on it’s own) and completely gimped for raid healing. Blizzard’s gonna give it a little more oomph in the next patch, so we’ll have to see how viable that makes it.
    On a side note: I drew little dots of glitter on my undergarments so I can always have the holy light with me… do I have a problem?


  3. More alarming are the old “holy is the only way” die hards that refuse to accept there is another healing spec for Priests.

    THOSE people are the ones that are too attached to their spec. I suggest you stop projecting… and have some punch.

    …and who doesn’t like a sparklers and bubbles spec? =)


  4. @Cladius: I don’t know if you were directing your comment at mine, but it made me realize that I hadn’t really put the idea I meant to across. Disc IS a good spec and every guild that wants a complete bag of tricks should have one. But if you have multiple disc priests, well, I think it might cause trouble with the versatility of your healing team because of the current weakness of the spec.


  5. I am safe hahaha.

    I actually respecced from Disc back to shadow a while ago but will go disc when duel spec comes out for pvp


  6. I’m going to have to disagree with my favorite crack elf, Holy Dueg.

    At least, in some respects. Yes, disc is still a work in progress. But I don’t feel that it’s terribly gimped. As far as raid healing goes, disc has far more tools at hand than a holy pally. >:|

    Mine still isn’t 80 yet, but I’ve been healing all the way on my disc priest and certainly don’t feel that I fair any worse than I do on the pally. And certainly our raiding disc priest, Preamus, doesn’t seem to have any issues…except for wanting to kill me, of course.

    Oh, it would be bad if everyone jumped on the disc bandwagon, but since I still know more holy priests than I can shake a stick at, I’m not worried. :) The influx of disc priests is kin of making up for all the holy pallys that have vanished…


  7. @ Priestgiblet – Hey, I’m all for getting info to the masses. It’s the fanaticism I object to.

    @ Holy Dueg – TMI, and yes. ;)

    @ Cladius – Viva la resistance! I know, mixed signals.

    @ Esdras – Dual spec, dual. Duel specs are another beast entirely. :D

    @ Ambrosyne – Now that you have mentioned it… where have all the Holy Pallies gone?


  8. @ Amber: Disagreeing with Dueg is WHY disc priests want you to ‘asplode

    @ Seri, answering for Amber: They’re all on her sight wondering where all these disc priests came from


  9. I went to disc after being holy for a good while for two main reasons.
    1. Little less squishy in instances.
    2. Easier to quest/farm do dailies.

    As far as raids go
    1. do holy priests beat me on meters – yes, so what druids make all of us look bad.
    2. do i heal single target better than holy priests – yes of course.

    I enjoy both specs and both are viable – player is what matters.


  10. I WILL NOT COW DOWN TO THE *SPIRIT* BASED BOURGEOISIE OPPRESSION. NO LONGER WILL I BE *SHACKLED* BY RAID HEALING. MITIGATION IS THE NEW WAVE. WE WILL NEVER BE REPRESSED AGAIN.

    Nice to see a new disc site come up, albeit plusheal is my bread and butter. You’re a member of a raid healing team…whats the use if you don’t communicate with other healing classes.


  11. This cracked me up as I have been thinking the same thing. I still have yet to even try a disc spec. I do plan to as soon as dual specs come out though. Thing is I like to raid heal much more than I like to tank heal. I can tank heal, and when dual specs come out I’d gladly pick up a disc spec to use when I do tank heal. However until then I’ll stick with my holy spec :)


  12. Psh, some of us have been discipline since patch 1.0.

    You new-fangled types need to GET OFF MAH LAWN.


  13. I must admit once I realised everyone was Disc these days I thought of going Holy. Not yet…


  14. Discipline is a way of life. To spec Discipline is to not spec Communism!


  15. Agree with Knaz’s comments. I went Holy when I dingled 80, and ran a nice few instances along the way. Then I went & did some dailies, and couldn’t kill a thing – offensively, holy felt killing something akin to battering it to death with a wet kipper. Changed to Disc, worked out a nice rotation & talent spec, found I could heal equally well if not better in instances, and I could actually take a mob down when doing dailies.

    Agreed Disc has it’s limitations in raids, but IMHO thats what you take resto droods & shammys along for; Disc priests are for mitigation & MT/OT healing.


  16. I kinda boggle at the people who say they can’t solo effectively as holy, but can as disc. Essentially, they (disc) have a better shield, and a couple clickie talents. Most spellpower gains are mirrored (or overpowered) by the spellpower gains of deep holy.

    Killing anything as healspec is slow, yes, but it’s no more impossible to do as one than the other. o.O


  17. @Matticus: If you love America, you’ll spec Disc!

    @Jov: yeah, I don’t get that either, it seems like as holy you would end up gaining more SP from you gear because of spirit bonus.


  18. @Jov and Dueg: Whoa I never said I could not do dailies as holy. All I ever said is that it is _easier_. Since with the improved bubble I can pull 7 mobs (level 80) at a time, so I’m just done faster. This you may consider cheap but I just like the priestadin feel that disc has.
    As far as instances go with a good tank I have no worries and holy just rocks.
    However since I pug a lot and since many groups do not mind if I get hit (or just don’t notice). It’s nice to be able to bubble/ Pain Supress and run to tank hoping that he will notice the mob once I bring it to him.


  19. I’ll agree with ‘Yuki. 3.0 Discipline is like someone built a flashy theme park in front of my house, and now I’m scared to go outside. :)


  20. They keep making Discipline more and more attractive, I keep wanting to respec and flail around with Penance for a little while, then have to console myself with the fact that I can save the raid from wipes on Sarth 3D with Guardian Spirit.

    I am torn, Seri, and it hurts so much. I want dual specs already.


  21. @ Dae – /soothe


  22. I think the only reason i mess around with the whole “cult” thing is because is funny :D and it shows up how many other priests have so many questions/interest in the spec now that is a lot more viable for PvE.

    Back in TBC i started up as shadow (since my priest was my first char getting to 70 and the whole “being easier to lvl” thing), then went hardcore holy because i love healing, and did my weekly respec to disc when i was doing arena, and even tho i could heal heroics as disc i didn’t feel i was comfortable enough with it for raiding (is a healer’s team effort, but my guild relies a lot on me).

    Currently disc offers so many tools that i just feel like it fits my healing style more than holy does, but the main thing for any priest is: play whatever spec you like the most, but always consider what would help your guild also.

    And no Seri, i don’t own a “I love Disc!” T-shirt or any of the others :P


  23. Disc will never lead the healing meters, but while instance healing, it has some great utility. I always say that I’m not going to own the meters, but at the end of the day what really matters is-

    Did anyone die except the boss?


  24. […] I was really struggling with what to do.  Vess is a pve disc priest.  I like the spec, alot, maybe even a little too much.  So I fully intend to keep disc as my primary […]


  25. […] order of most to least favorite, so these are largely chronological. First off is my rant about the oh-so-downtrodden Discipline Priests of Azeroth. I’m pleased to report that while Discipline has become a popular and accepted spec I no […]



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

