h1

Jov sez: On Trinkets

February 17, 2009

A couple weeks ago now, Seri passed an emailed topic request to me, with the request that I look into it.  It went something like this:

If I may suggest a topic, I would be interested on a trinket review, with things accessible on raids and outside of raids. I usually make use of the “dwarfpriest.com” values to rate items, and can use it to calculate values of some trinkets (especially those with “on use” effect), but what annoys me always is when I’m faced with a “chance to proc” trinket since the chances to proc and sometimes hidden cooldowns on effects can drastically alter the value of some items. I don’t know if you know of resources somewhere on the net to find info for these values.

Trinket review.  Trinket review.  I understand why Seri tossed this one at me; I actually have access to some of these trinkets, whereas she’s happily face-stabbing away.  But the mathcraft of procs really makes me nervous.  (I also shy away from “Best in Slot” discussions.  I totally don’t want to get involved in the Crit vs Haste war currently going on in the holy priest community, as I love them both like bunnies.)

But for you, my EU friend, I’m going to try.  I’m including trinkets with a minimum equip level of 78, simply as a just in case there’s some diamonds in the rough (or it’s what you have easiest access to.)

Passive Equip

Majestic Dragon Figurine: This is a spell-triggered spirit trinket.  Each time you cast a spell, you get a stacking buff of 18 spirit for 10 seconds, granting up to 180 spirit if you keep it at full.  It drops off Sarth in OS-10.  I have it, I play with it, it’s not bad on boss fights where I can guarantee the 180 spirit (go go regen and spellpower!), but it’s not a terribly strong trinket for trash or anytime you might face downtime.

Illustration of the Dragon Soul:  Also from Sarth (this time OS-25), it’s a distant cousin of the Dragon Figurine.  Instead of a stacking spirit effect, it grants spellpower, 20 spellpower stacking to 200 if you keep it at full.  This falls somewhat victim to the same things as the Figurine, though personally I feel that the spellpower loss is less of an issue if it falls off and needs to be restacked.

On-Use

Tome of Arcane Phenomena:  This drops in Regular Oculus, and gives a base 68 spellpower, with an on-use increase in haste by 256 for 20 seconds (2 min cooldown).  At lv 80, it grants approx 7.8% haste.  (In laymans terms, it would drop your cast time of Flash Heal to 1.3 seconds.)  Personally, I don’t like this much, simply because the times I need temporary haste are so situational, it’s impossible to plan for.  I want 256 haste all the time, not for 20 seconds.  It’s probably much more useful for a DPS caster.

Darkmoon Card: Illusion:  This comes from collecting the Prisms deck.  It offers a base 100 spellpower, with an on-use small damage shield (absorbs 400 for 6 seconds) and gives back 1200 mana when the shield is removed or expires (5 min cooldown).  Ignoring the shield (because 400 damage absorb is pretty ignorable), if you keep the use effect on cooldown, it nets you 1200 mana every 300 seconds, which equals out to being less than 1 mp5.  Yes, it can be a little boost when you need it, but it’s effectively one free spell every 5 minutes.  For that, Inner Focus is more useful.

Spirit World Glass: This drops off Gothik in Naxx 10, and grants a base 84 spirit, with an on-use of 336 Spirit for 20 seconds (2 min cooldown).  This is an extremely strong trinket.  It doesn’t have at base the potential of the Dragon Figurine, but is much friendlier for trash, any fight which has downtime, or the chance you get an innervate.

Talisman of Troll Divinity:  Also a snackily strong trinket.  This drops off the final boss in Heroic Drak’Tharon, and grants 73 spirit, with an on-use of a stackable increased healing to target of 58, stacking 5 times and lasting 10 seconds (2 minute cooldown.)  Keep this baby’s use effect on cooldown.

Winged Talisman:  This drops from Ionar in Heroic HoL.  It grants 29 mp5 with an on-use of 346 for 20 seconds (2 minute cooldown).  Color me unenthused.

Living Ice Crystals:  This drops off Malygos in EoE-25.  It grants 43 mp5, with an on-use heal of your target for 2710 (1 minute cooldown).  It’s pretty darned snacky.

Chance of Proc

(Note:  All Proc Chance trinkets have a 45 second internal cooldown (Excepting the DPS trinket off Illidari Council in TBC), so keep in mind, the uptime of the proc won’t hit more than every 45 seconds, ever.)

Soul Preserver:  This drops in Regular Strat, and gives a base 75 spellpower, with a proc chance which decreases the mana cost of your next heal by 800.  It’s a 2% chance to proc (approximately 1 proc per 50 casts), meaning we’d likely only see the effect once every couple minutes at best.  While it could be useful for some long, mana-intensive fights, there are better options out there.

Darkmoon Card: Greatness:  This comes from collecting the Nobles deck, and has a +90 spirit and a +90 int version.  The proc chance gives you +300 to your highest stat for 15 seconds, with a 35% chance to proc.  The proc rate seems high, but keep in mind it falls victim to the 45 second cooldown rule.

Embrace of the Spider:  This drops of Maex in Naxx 10.  It gives 98 spellpower, base, and has a proc chance to increase your haste rating by 505 for 10 seconds (about 15% haste at lv 80) with a 10% chance to proc.  Like the Tome of Arcane Phenomena mentioned above, I don’t really like it, especially since it’s a proc chance haste effect instead of an on-use, meaning I have zero control over when I could potentially need the boost.  Also like the Tome, likely more appealing for DPS casters.

Je’Tze’s Bell:  The true diamond in the rough, and arguably a best in slot trinket.  This is a world drop, and the direct upgrade of the Memento of Tyrande.  It grants 106 spellpower at base, and a 10% proc of 100 mp5 for 15 seconds (which is the same proc as the Memento, but offers more regen.  I still use the Memento, it’s sexy).  I would personally sell my soul for one of these babies.

The Egg of Mortal Essence:  This is a Emblem of Heroism purchase, and is identical to Embrace of the Spider except it will only proc off heals or HoTs.  My thoughts on it also echo my thoughts on the Embrace: I don’t particularly like it.

Forge Ember:  This drops off the final boss in Heroic HoS, and grants 73 crit rating (~1.6% at lv 80) and has a chance proc of 510 spellpower for 10 seconds (10% chance to proc).  I actually like this more than the Egg-like trinkets, as I feel a situational boost of spellpower, even from proc, to be more useful at base than a boost to haste.  However, as with the haste trinkets, “on use” is more important to me than chance on proc, especially 10% with the 45 second cooldown.

Spark of Life:  This is the equal opposite of the Forge Ember.  It also drops off the final boss in Heroic HoS, but instead of crit/spellpower, it gives 73 haste rating (~2.25% at lv 80) and has a chance to proc 176 mp5 for 15 seconds (also with a 10% proc chance).  My feelings for this are roughly equivalent to my feelings for the Forge Ember as well, as a chance to proc of mp5 is still quite useful.

Forethought Talisman:  This is a shared drop in Heroic Naxx, and grants 111 spellpower with a chance to proc a HoT on your target that heals 3572 over 12 seconds (~298/second).  It’s a 20% proc chance (again, subject to the cooldown).  I personally consider this best for the spellpower.  The proc doesn’t heal that much (it’s kinda meh, actually).

Soul of the Dead: Pallies will try to convince you that this is THEIR trinket.  Don’t let them.  It drops off Sapphiron in Naxx-25, and grants 95 crit rating (~2% at lv 80) with a 25% chance to proc 900 mana return.  Even with the 45 second cooldown, you’re looking at 900 mana back roughly each minute (or a fairly static 15 mp5).  If you’re wanting crit, this is your strongest option.

The Bottom Line

Many of the trinkets listed above are very situational, but a few stand out above the rest.  If you’re looking for your best options for trinkets, I’d suggest Spirit World Glass, Talisman of Troll Divinity, Living Ice Crystals, and Je’Tze’s Bell.

18 comments

  1. You seriously undervalue the Illusion card. First, your math is off — 1200 mana per 300 seconds is 4 mana per second, or 20mp5. Not terrible. Assume Je’tze’s Bell has a 45s cooldown; granting 100mp5 for 15s is the same as 300 mana. So the Bell grants 300 mana every 45s (probably 50-60s depending on the proc rate), or 1200 mana every 180s, or 2000 mana per 300s, or 400 mana per minute. So 33mp5.

    But it takes four procs of the Bell to equal one on-use of the card. This means on any 3 minute or shorter fight, the card is better (but who cares, if you OOM in 3 minutes in current content, something is wrong). But what of a 6 minute fight? Well, two procs is 2400 mana, the same as the bell.

    That’s the trick of the card — its mp5 varies depending on the length of the fight, and just when it bottoms out, the cooldown is over and you can use it again, making it extremely efficient.

    So, the Bell is probably better, but the card is actually quite good!


  2. I like trinkets. And what I like most about them is that they are situational. That they can be switched in and out, that you may choose to use them at certain times but not others. What I don’t like though is not being in control over when to use these effects and I have to agree that the random hasteproccs for example often can leave you unhappy watching a buff you don’t get to put to use. But if they procc often enough that kinda makes up for it a bit and I remember loving my Scarab of the Infinite Cycle for quite some time.

    Being discipline now your suggested trinkets doesn’t make me much good. The spirit biased ones are of course aimed at holy priests in need of mana and some minor spellpower. For discipline I would rather suggest going with Soul of the Dead, Illustration of the Dragon Soul, Je’Tze’s Bell or The Egg of Mortal Essence. And since we are chaincasting heals in a manner different from holy folks we have nothing against haste proccs :)


  3. Absout that paladins remark. Yeah.

    I never bidded on [Soul of The Dead] because we still had paladins who did not have it. I guess that was rather stupid, since one fight later, when Kel’thuzad dropped the 520 spellpower mace, nobody uttered a sound when shadowpriests bidded on it (even though it has mp5).

    Long story short, don’t be nice.


  4. @Darra – the mace is Best in Slot for Shadow Priests, so I wouldn’t have any issues with them bidding against me (this expansion I’m holy, last expansion I was shadow).

    In regards to the Je’tze’s Bell, I feel you overvalue it. It’s proc is less potent than that of a blue (Spark of Life), with the same proc rate and internal cooldown. The only difference is 106 spell power vs 55 haste rating. Hands down, the haste will win unless you’re at the haste cap or severely undergeared. As healers, Spell Power is the least of our worries. I wouldn’t consider Je’tze’s Bell anywhere near Best in Slot, unless you’re compiling a list of ‘easily obtainable’ items. With it selling for >5k on many servers, I find it even less desirable. However if it dropped I would need roll on it before anyone could say anything.. but that’s because I’m using the MDF from sarth-10 and hate it because it’s annoying keeping up the stacks. The Egg of Mortal Essence was a huge waste of badges IMO since the proc comes at inopportune times and is usually wasted or leads to overhealing). But, with a price of >5k, and ~10k on many more (it’s 15k minimum on mine), I’m going to pool my gold and get a much more potent Nobles deck.


  5. Sure, of course it’s the best in-slot for them. But it has one stat that’s definitely meant for holies. They should have done what I did: wait for all the healers to get it.

    I’m saying this issue shouldn’t have been enforced by the loot master, I’m saying it should have come from the shadowpriests themselves, like I (and quite a few other priests) passed on the 900mana-95crit trinket.

    Sometimes you think that if you behave nicely and be considerate, other people would do the same for you. Then you wake up.


  6. @ Cauthon — The reason I don’t like doing theorycraft posts is I invariably screw up somewhere ;)

    @ Blakkeyez — I don’t encourage the Discipline Cult. For that, poke Seri.

    @ Darra — I’m rarely nice :) If it goes to roll, I roll and then decide whether to be nice or not (usually by comparing size of the upgrade)

    @ Estrela — The mace is best in slot for all non-sword using casters. But the mp5 DOES lean it toward being a healer item. ;)


  7. I’m not able to give thoughts on all the other trinkets and their math (I stay WELL away from all that!) but I am sad to see that the Egg ranked so low in your opinion. It looked pretty good to me when I first saw it and I just purchased it last night :( Although I agree, it would be nice to have a use, so that I can choose when I use it, instead of whenever it decides to shoot fireworks.


  8. There’s an addon called Procodile some may be interested in. It tracks your trinket PPMs and shows bars for their cooldowns/uptime.

    Its a pretty nice little addon for information junkies like me.


  9. Oh it ^ also tracks SoL and such talents as well. ^_^


  10. @ Blakkeyez – When I sent this to Jov I asked her to focus on Holy because there was already a Disc trinket guide out there. You can find it at Shadow Weaving: Trinkets for Discipline Priests.


  11. The only problem with haste procs is that it can kill your mana effeciency in endurance fights. Patchwerk especially comes to mind when most healers just go on automatic and start spam healing whoever they’re assigned to. If you proc haste then you’re going to lose mana effeciancy by virtue of the fact that you’re casting quicker. I usually swap out my egg of mortal essence (I’m still waiting on soul of the dead to drop) for troll divinity in endurance fights. Oh, and btw, 25% crit chance, THEN start working on haste. Sheesh.


  12. I would say that if you’re close to hitting 80 (or got it recently) the easiest/most useful trinket you can get is the Soul Preserver from reg CoS, no matter if you’re holy or disc it will be a nice boost to spellpower and a couple “free heals” here and there.

    Currently i’m using the Forge Ember and the Spark of Life (even tho i have the Majestic Dragon Figurine/Spirit World Glass) since i would still rather have crit/haste/mp5 over pure Spirit as a Disc Priest. Although personally i’m looking foward to getting the Forethought Talisman /drool

    Good job on the list tho, i def agree that they could’ve given healers a better option from emblems than The Egg of Mortal Essence :(


  13. @ Seri – Thanks for the other link :P going to check it out now


  14. re: Soul Preserver – its not as bad as it looks. Sure only 2% proc rate but it has no internal cool down (i.e. can proc multiple times in a row) and can proc off any target healed with AoE heals (i.e. it can proc off any of the targets hit by Circle of Healing). This means that when AoE healing, which Holy priests are well known for, it has a higher chance of occuring that the 2% proc rate suggests (10% if you hit 5 targets and my math isright).

    One commenter on WoWHead estimates it being worth about 85 MP5 in a boss fight where there is Aoe healing needed (http://www.wowhead.com/?item=37111#comments).


  15. I haz 2 of the 4 recommended trinkets :)

    The bell I got in my first Naxx run… on the trash to the first boss in 10 man lol. WOOO ME


  16. @ Anea — While I like haste, I’m never going to give a high rating to a haste chance on proc for a holy priest. Haste is the ONE stat I want a consistant amount of, or not at all. I mean, more crit — I hit harder and can proc IHC/SoL. Yay! More spellpower — hey, that’s cool. More mp5 — Also awesome. More haste in an uncontrollable fashion hurts me.

    @ BobTurkey — re: Soul Preserver. Really? huh, my research said all “chance on proc” trinkets excepting Madness of the Betrayer have the 45 second cooldown. You sure on that? If so, it definitely moves up the list.


  17. What about the JC Sapphire Owl with two +32 SP gems? I have it on my armory profile. I’m curious to know the worth of its On-use ability.


  18. @Jov – I’m basing my input off the comments on WowHead (link in my post above).



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

