h1

Jov sez: Consolidated list of 3.0.8 Priest Changes

January 20, 2009

Test Realm Patch Notes can be found here.  If these changes are from other blue posts, I’ve tried to include links.

Talents

Silent Resolve has been changed to protect only beneficial spells and damage over time effects (10, 20, 30%). (Um, so I guess it means Shield and ProM no longer are protected?  Whee, even more a useless-in-PVE-talent!)

Improved Holy Concentration: The tooltip has been rewritten to indicate that this talent reduces cast time rather than providing haste.  (Spell haste increased when casting certain specified spells (as opposed to any) per the tooltip = reduced cast time.  I really fail to see where this was confusing…)

Rapture: This talent will now correctly return mana for Power Word: Shield based on the caster’s mana poll instead of the target’s mana pool. (Whoops!  Good news for our Discipline friends!)

Surge of Light: Prayer of Mending will no longer sometimes cause Surge of Light to trigger on Priests who do not have that talent. (Whoops!  Followed by bummer news for our Discipline friends.  Sorry guys!  But at least it was fun while it lasted.)

Spells

The bugs with Guardian Spirit, Divine Aegis, and Power Word: Shield not working on certain classes in certain conditions is fixed. (source) (Thank you.  Thankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyou.  Seriously, this… yeah.)

Guardian Spirit is no longer attached to the GCD.  (Also very handy for an oh-shit button.  Nothing like “oh shit in 1.5 seconds, I can do something!”)

Circle of Healing has a 6 second cooldown.  (I’m…  not happy about this.  CoH was OP, but I think a 6 second cooldown is not the way to go about fixing it.  But it doesn’t make us broken, either.)

Levitate can now be cast on others.  (Um, yay?  I mean I guess it could be handy if you and your trusty tanky questing buddy end up falling off  the elevator…  More reason to get the Levitate glyph, I guess.)

Guardian Spirit: It is no longer possible for simultaneous killing blows to trigger the heal from this ability multiple times.  (Alas…  Not that I ever benefited from this bug, but alas all the same.)

Prayer of Mending: Will now only benefit from the healing talents of the priest who cast the original spell.  (Which is usually a good thing.)

Glyphs

Glyph of Spirit of Redemption– Now increases duration of effect 6 seconds (was 20% chance to increase duration 4 sec on crit, potentially infinite)  (This change makes one of my guildies very sad, though I admit it doesn’t really bother me much one way or the other.  I can see this being HORRIBLY abused in arenas, however.  And the infinite SoR is definitely something I agree needed adjusting…)

Glyph of Dispel Magic– Heals your target for 3% of their maximum health on each dispel (was 6%).  (6% was too much.  Period.  Of course, in most of my runs, pallies tend to be quicker on the dispel key than priests, so it’s not anything that’s really affected me much, either.)

Miscellaneous

Soul Preserver: This item will now interact correctly with Desperate Prayer.

19 comments

  1. The SoR glyph was the only way I could pvp :-( sadface.

    Altogether a decent list of changes, in truth I was getting bored out of my skull pretending to be a real priest while in reality just spamming CoH and throwing out proms.


  2. “Silent Resolve has been changed to protect only beneficial spells and damage over time effects (10, 20, 30%). (Um, so I guess it means Shield and ProM no longer are protected? Whee, even more a useless-in-PVE-talent!)”
    PoM and Shield are beneficial effects and should be protected.. :P

    And don’t think i’ll keep SoR glyphed now.. 6 seconds isn’t really that much compared to what else I can get instead :Y


  3. I think the main thing that they wanted to nerf with Silent Resolve was its protection of fear effects (aka psychic scream).


  4. @ Frnit — my mistake. Every time I read it, my brain was supplying “hot’n’dot” Though I still insist it’s pretty useless in PVE anyway.


  5. Yes…while I am the guildie in question who is a sad sad panda because of the SoR glyph fix…that’s really what it is – a fix. I was way too hax upon death! Last night in Sarth I had a SoR last over twice as long as it should. That’s just too much for it to be fair. So…begrudgingly…I will admit that Blizzard was right in doing this. Here I come glyph of Flash Heal!

    Boooo 6-second CD on CoH! Hisssssssssss!

    Oh yeah, and <3 Seri and Jov! (I have to end all comments with this or I don’t get rostered :P)


  6. I’m crossing my fingers in hopes that with the CoH and WG nerf comes a nerf to AoE damage overall, making my life as a holy pally easier.

    Is a CD the best way to handle it? I don’t know…but my priest is disc, so I’m not going to ruffle my feathers over it. Go go lazer heals!

    Random aside: I hate cleansing on my pally. I blame it on Chromaggus. All I DID that fight was Cleanse. Cleanse cleanse cleanse cleanse cleanse. I make our prot pally cleanse on Safety Dance, since the warrior is tanking the boss. :D


  7. I did actually have a question. How is this change to CoH going to effect Holy Priest healing? As in, rotations, utility, and so on?


  8. I can’t wait to see how the correction to Rapture affects Disc Priest mana regen. I have been regeming from spellpower to mp5 lately for more staying power, but if this change has a big enough impact, maybe I can start boosting my lousy crit rating instead.

    And thanks for the synopsis!

    Vess


  9. I’m not happy about the CoH change, but I have never been a CoH spammer and I think I’ll live through it. Still think there could have been a better fix to it. Oh well…not sure Blizz cares what I think! :D


  10. “Rapture: This talent will now correctly return mana for Power Word: Shield based on the caster’s mana poll instead of the target’s mana pool. (Whoops! Good news for our Discipline friends!)”

    O.o Is it bad if I didn’t realize that this bug existed? Well… I never ran out of mana before, I suppose I can look forward to still not running out of mana. =]


  11. @ Shraka — As if we had input on the roster XD

    @ Ambrosyne — Oh god, Chromaggus. Back when Decursive was smart and I just hit “““““ over and over again. ugh. (And yes, was a priest, we cleansed too that fight)

    @ Sami — Jury is out. There’s not really a lot of content right now which REQUIRES CoH spam more than once every 6 seconds. However, current content being what it is, it’s the easiest tool for the job. Objectively speaking, holy priests will still make viable raid healers, it will just require more focus and variety than just hitting one button over and over and over again. It will take adjusting, and more focus on the spells we’ve perhaps forgotten, or ignored. But we can do it.

    @ Vess — Glad to be of service ^^

    @ Ayslin — I understand the reasoning, but don’t agree with the method. It’s less a matter of feeling Blizzard “doesn’t care” than acknowledging that if they follow every “suggestion,” they won’t have time to ever actually accomplish anything. If it doesn’t work out, things will change.

    @ Myssidia — There’s so many ways we get back mana… I mean, I totally wouldn’t notice if there was a bug in Serendipity’s mana return on overheal, either. I just would see I was getting mana back and not really go from there. Wading through combat logs for the mana back from replenishment, totems, talents and everything else… Like so many things, it’s only really noticed when it’s a problem.


  12. Well, I’ll be dropping my SoR glyph, i dunno what to though. I already dropped the glyph of dispel magic… I didn’t think it was too much! LOL


  13. The main problem with non-cooldown solutions to CoH is that all of them are worse, when you accept as the basic premise that the problem with CoH is that its throughput and efficiency are too high.

    You could just leave the cooldown off, but reduce the cost and effectiveness; however, given that the more expensive, less effective version was justifiably referred to as Circle of Lol, that doesn’t exactly make it a good solution; nor is just changing one of the two by a lot any better since it would just make the spell nearly useless.

    You could give it a cast time, but then what’s the point compared to Prayer of Healing? “The exact same spell only more efficient” is kinda not a good design.

    Basically as long as the basic premise is correct, your options are limited and all of them suck. Personally I’m hoping for less “lulz raid aoe” fights. If you only need to do AoE healing now and then, it’s a useful tool, and the cooldown stops it from being the “one spell on my bar” that it’s become for a lot of priests right now.

    Although I’ll admit you can have my holy dodgeballs when you pry them from my cold dead hands, so take any comments I make about holy with a grain of salt :)


  14. @jov re:@Myssidia: (did that make sense?) anyways…Rapture is funny since in truth it makes you less of a heal sniper. I was noticing that my “jump in and heal at 2k dmg” strategy that I had with holy spec and serendipity wasn’t working that hot. Once I became a more “effective” healer, I never run out of mana. In truth I sometimes let the dps drop down a bit lower than my comfort zone just so my heals will get a full 2.5% from rapture. This combined with the now being able regen from a shield to the mana users is…well excellent.

    Albeit, I, for one, am now scared, mana *is* becoming less and less of a strategy for me and I fear that blizz will notice that, and change the scene once more. I mean honestly after that first few weeks at fresh 80 in quest blues, mana is becoming trivial once more.


  15. @Jov
    I really did not mean that line of mine to be taken literally. Frankly I’d be shocked if Blizz did care what my personal opinion was. Honestly I believe they do the best they can and that people tend to over react. I know that I’ll still be a good healer after the nerf, but I know several Priests that are going to struggle as they rely on CoH spam entirely too much. In a way I’m looking forward to the nerf as it will force people to actually think again.


  16. […] of already know them, perhaps only so much as we know the tournament rules of pool, the girls of snarkcraft have provided a list of Priest changes coming in 3.0.8, including comments in italic. I love […]


  17. So Day 1 with changes…. I gotta admit. the COH nerf… not a huge ordeal. Well, with the exception that its VERY buggy on Vortex/Malygos. “Invalid Target” wtf?


  18. Be careful if you got the levitate glyph, and got used to taking shortcuts. If you have someone else targetted (and as a healer, that’s not too far fetched), you’ll fall to your death. :)

    I had to make a macro to feel safe again.

    /cast [nomod:shift,target=player] Levitate; Levitate


  19. I’ve been preparing myself for the CoH change, but it still hurt. What’s really making me grumpy about this patch, though, is that Guardian Spirit does not appear to do the 50% heal AT ALL right now. Sorry about that, Mr Tank.

    Also, on the subject of levitate, as Rollo said, be careful who you are targetting. There’s nothing like hearing the main tank say “Who just levitated me? I fell into the slime when you did that” while jumping over to engage Thaddius.



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

