h1

Seri snarks: What’s a robe like you doing with a gem like this?

October 6, 2008

They say a picture is worth a thousand words…

I’ll give you a moment.

All set? Ok, moving on!

What we have here, ladies and gentlemen, is a failure to accessorize. I mean, who wears gems that color with that robe? Ok, I know… sometimes function supersedes fashion, but this is fail on even that level. Why, why, why would you put Spell Penetration gems in Healing gear?

I mean, I’m just as concerned as anyone about the level of Holy Resistance tanks are stacking these days, and plate can be tricky to heal through. I’ve been trying to convince our MT to go with something more organic; I mean not only will it just soak up Healing but it’ll breathe a lot better and provide some much-needed ventilation (if you know what I mean).

Sarcasm aside, folks, Spell Penetration is for PVP. Even then, it could be argued to be useless for PVP Priests of the non-Shadow variety because there is no such thing as Holy Resistance. 

Putting Spell Penetration gems in Healing gear just shows that you are a noob–which is convenient, I suppose, because it means I don’t have to put effort into getting to know you only to discover it later.

8 comments

  1. I got called a noob cause I put 3 x = 18 healing gems in that robe.. but but I said I put 3 x spirit gems in my healing mace.


  2. I suppose it could be someone gemming it for a dps build after patch 3.0. It will all be spell power then. That would (kinda) explain the +150 health enchant instead of +15 spirit or +6 all stats.

    Not making excuses, just giving the benefit of the doubt.


  3. Since I know that image has been in her file for roughly 4 months (it was one of the inspirations for our blog title) your benefit of the doubt is noted, but unlikely.


  4. @ pugnaciouspriest – Gemming is all about balance. If you want to socket Teardrop x3, okie dokie. That’s a fine gem for a Holy Priest. It’s not a Spell Penetration gem, which is the point here. :)

    @ Dechion – I gave this person the benefit of the doubt too. I assumed this was PVP gear, but when I asked them about it they assured me that it was their PVE healing gear. Needless to say, they did not advance to the next stage of the interview process.


  5. Now that I know that, the benefit of the doubt is withdrawn and replaced with a rather puzzled look. Possibly a chuckle of disbelief as well. >.<


  6. I smell a potential for a regular post series: World of Snarkcraft’s “What Not to Wear” with Trinny and Suzannah… I mean Jov and Seri.


  7. Just because something is epic quality does not mean it is good…


  8. @ Dae — Very much proven by that screenshot ;)

    Such a pity, too. Those are AWESOME robes, and totally wasted. I want to take them into protective custody to prevent them from being abused like that ever again.



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

