h1

Snarkcraft Mailbag: 10/3/08

October 3, 2008

It’s that time again, kids. What time, you say? Time for another peek into the World of Snarkcraft Mailbag! I know you’re excited, but try to pace yourself. We still have a big announcement coming later today!

J.L. writes:

I came across your blog while bored at work one day and I have to say, I am very impressed. The quality of content and the way in which it is presented is EXTREMELY well done. My only complaint is that I wish there was more! :)

Keep up the good work.

P.S. I play a Dwarf Priest on US – Mannoroth, named [snip], that is getting 70 this week so a post reguarding what new priests should focus on would be helpful. (BG grind, professions, dungeons/heroics). I am new to Mannoroth, and alliance, after spending 3+ years on Azgalor- Horde as a rogue/warlock/warrior/druid… you get the point :)

Seri sez:

Hi J.L.!

Thank you for taking the time to write us with your feedback. I’m sorry we don’t have more content for you right now, but rest assured that there is plenty to come. World of Snarkcraft is barely a week old, and we’ve got lots of ideas. You’re welcome to subscribe via RSS or E-mail, but if you prefer to visit our swanky site itself we update on Tuesdays & Thursdays with occasional posts in between.

Pre-congratulations on your ascension to 70! Reaching level 70 with any char is an achievement, but with a Holy Priest you get extra bragging rights. I’m assuming you leveled Holy… wait, the Armory says you’re Shadow… say it isn’t so! Well, don’t worry. It’s not too late to repent, sinner. I am prepared to hear your confession and get you off on the right path with minimal penance. (Read: Baking cookies for the snark mavens.)

Here at World of Snarkcraft, we’re more about making fun of people who somehow made it to endgame raiding without learning how to gear/spec/play their class than we are about educating the next generation. However, there are numerous folks that pioneered Priest blogging before it had even made it on our radar. Rather than re-creating the wheel, please allow us to refer you to several spectacular resources (blogs and otherwise) that should help you get started with gear choices and tips for Priestly PvWhatever.

Gearing Your Fresh 70 Holy Priest @ World of Matticus
Priest Guide @ Dwarf Priest
Gearing a Holy Priest for Karazhan @ Wow Insider
Priest Loot List @ Kaliban’s Class Loot List

As an aside, some of these do stress how awesome Primal Mooncloth gear is and give it a hearty endorsement. With the expansion so close on the horizon, we really wouldn’t recommend you grind out the mats for it.

Jov sez:

Howdy! Seri included most of what I really wanted to say already. The links she provided are good resources, don’t be afraid to use them.

However (you knew there was going to be a “but” in there, didn’t you?) regarding your question as to where you should focus… At this point, you should focus on whatever you want. We’re ~6 weeks away from the expansion, at the moment, and you’ve somewhat missed the boat in regards to focusing on things in TBC. You’re unlikely to end up raiding in a group you need to seriously gear up for, and without that kind of pressure, you’re living in a free world of doing whatever the hell you want.

My honest advise to you at this time would be to prep yourself for Wrath. There’s nothing like the reset button of suddenly leveling again to balance the playing field. Buffer your bank account with money through dailies, work on your professions so you’re not having to hang out in old content instead of charging forward into the lag-filled noob zones of Northrend. Then… do whatever you want. If you want to instance, go instance. If you want to PVP, do that. If you want to grind out a specific faction for something (mounts, recipes, etc) do that. Or, just hang around Shatt chatting on guild or playing Bejeweled. It’s all good.

Have a question or topic request for World of Snarkcraft? E-mail us!

5 comments

  1. You missed Ego :o

    http://egotisticalpriest.com

    It could be smart to grind some honor. Honor, unlike badges of justice, won’t be reset – so you can get a leg up at 80 with LK BG gear.
    Personally I’d rather gouge out my eyes, though. Just sayin’.


  2. Ego’s an awesome priest, yes, but doesn’t have a quick guide to the new 70 easily spotted on the site. We weren’t directing him to check different blogs, we were directing him to specific “new 70″ posts already out there.

    So no, we didn’t “miss Ego” ;)


  3. Let me start by saying thank you for dedicating a post to my question. I hit 70 this morning at about 1am local and made a quick respec to holy, specifically Imp DS, since I dont plan on being in Hyjal/BT/Sunwell any time soon.

    I agree with you that with the expansion being six short weeks away that my options are pretty much open. I think that at this point, my best bet will be to a)Fill my bank coffers and b) level 2 professions in preparation for WoTLK.

    I have about 65k honor saved up that I think I am going to save for level 80 rewards instead of buying the salvation/gavel.

    What professions do you think will be the most benefitial to a holy/disc priest. I, much like yourselves, have no interest in shadow so I say this with the intention of healing in PVE but also healing in arenas and BGs (Kinda why I rolled a dwarf).

    Thanks in advance,
    Deklen


  4. Professions: Cooking, fishing, and first aid.

    Otherwise *shrug* pretty much whatever you want. There’s no real answer to your question. It’s really hard to min/max professions currently, with the nerf to Alch, all the professions can be good but aren’t “must have” great.

    Min/maxing states that dual-crafting professions will give you the most bang for your buck if you’re looking at end-game raid viability. You seem to be on a new server, so dual-gathering may be an acceptable alternative (transmute herbs into gold into pots as opposed to herbs into pots)

    Siha’s got an awesome list of what each profession brings to the table in Wrath at http://www.bananashoulders.com/2008/10/01/professional-advantages/

    Most of the current discussion is whether or not it’s worth it to drop a current crafting profession in favor of another. My thoughts: no, not really.

    If you’re really still wanting a list of good professions for priests:

    Alchemy
    Enchanting
    Engineering
    Inscription
    Jewelcrafting
    Tailoring

    Take any of those and the feeder profession, or take two. Or take none of the above because you really want to add sockets.


  5. Enchanting was a pain to level, but I really like being able to enchant my rings for extra healing power. Tailoring… I have been less than thrilled with, and while Blizzard has thrown Tailors a bigger bone in TBC with profession utility at endgame, killing bosses and taking their epic lewts continues to be the path to the best gear out there. I guess being able to make my own bags has been nice, and I’ve made a bit of money selling Primal Mooncloth on the AH. That’s about the best I can say for it. If not for the flying carpet, I’d probably drop it in Wrath for Jewelcrafting. (Seriously, as many people as were leveling JC when it came out, you’d think JC’ers wouldn’t be so scarce now.)



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

